How Long Does an Arizona Nurse Have to Report a Criminal Charge?
A.R.S. 32-3208 requires that nursing licensees and applicants for a nursing license must report misdemeanor criminal charges involving conduct that may affect patient safety or a felony to the Arizona Board of Nursing within 10 working days after the charge is filed. A working day would be considered Monday through Friday.
Failure to Report is a Violation
Failure to report a reportable criminal charge within 10 business days is a violation of the Arizona Nurse Practice Act and could result in disciplinary action.
What Crimes Must Be Reported?
A felony must be reported within 10 days of being charged. The following types of misdemeanor or other criminal offenses/charges are crimes that have been determined by the Board to be reportable pursuant to A.RS § 32-3208:
- Assault and Related Offenses
- Theft and Related Offenses
- Fraud, Deceit and Related Offenses
- Abuse, Neglect, Exploitation of a Child or Vulnerable Adult and Related Offenses
- Sexual and Related Offenses
- Drug and/or Alcohol Related Offenses
- Arson and Related Offenses
- Animal Abuse, Cruelty and Related Offenses
How quickly do you need to report a DUI?
Self Reporting a DUI for an Arizona Nurse is important. All DUI’s must be reported to the Arizona Board of Nursing within ten days of being charged. Besides handling a possible conviction in a criminal court, nurses must also quickly notify the AZBON in writing. If you’re facing a DUI it is not a good idea to avoid reporting the violation. Should the Board find out by other means the discipline you would face would be more extensive. If you have been arrested, we recommend contacting an attorney immediately.
It’s important for any nurse to know, if you’re facing charges you must report them to the AZBON within ten working days. This includes misdemeanor and other criminal charges, offenses or citations. For drug and alcohol related offenses this includes driving under the influence of alcohol or prescription drugs, the sale of or the use of drugs, distribution, growing or manufacturing of drugs and possession of drugs or drug paraphernalia.
Some cases do not need to be reported to the Board. This is because they are low risk and do no involve patient care. These cases include:
- Co-worker disputes or personality conflicts
- Rudeness to peers
- Labor/management disputes and more.
But of course, anything related to drug or alcohol charges would not come under this heading.
If you’re interested in learning more about Arizona Nursing Board Criminal History laws and how to protect your rights, set up a consultation with Chelle Law and our Arizona Nursing Attorney reach out to us today.